Simple Pad Thai

2img_0467

Up until about 10 months ago, I had never tried Pad Thai. I’m from a fairly small town that doesn’t have much to offer in the exotic/ethnic food department, so I never even had the opportunity to try it out.

But then… during one of our weekend excursions last fall, my friend Emily (who is a well-seasoned and avid Thai food fan) suggested we find a Thai restaurant. I’m always up for an adventure- especially when it comes to food so I eagerly agreed. We stumbled upon a little hole in the wall place called Simply Thai, and my life was instantly changed! I seriously had no idea what I was missing out on. Simply Thai quickly became one of my favorite restaurants, and is still one of my go-to places when I go out to eat or order in. I’m definitely missing it while I’m home for the summer!

I order Pad Thai quite a bit these days and have had it at several different restaurants across the nation. Being the amateur chef (or so I like to think of myself- haha) that I am, I soon began to wonder if I could make it on my own. One quick “pad thai” search on Pinterest, and the wish was confirmed!  This recipe stood out to me because it seemed easy and fresh, so last night I set out for my little culinary adventure.

This recipe isn’t exactly the “real deal”, but it still tastes pretty darn close to what I get at my favorite Thai restaurants. It’s just missing a few special ingredients (fish sauce and tamarind) that make it a little more authentic. I had full intentions of buying fish sauce at the grocery store, but when I picked up the bottle to read the ingredients, I took one look at “anchovy extract” and freaked out. I’ve obviously consumed it before, but for some reason extract of fish seemed exceptionally weird. I put the bottle right back on the shelf, and didn’t look back.

Authentic or not- this recipe will still knock your socks off! It is wonderfully easy, and can be made with ingredients that you most likely have on hand ( and if you don’t, you can find them at any grocery store).  I had so much fun cooking and photographing that my dish was cold by the time I actually sat down, and I had to reheat it.

Now let’s get cooking!

IMG_0402

You’ll need 8 ounces of flat, wide rice noodles. I found these on the ethnic food aisle at my grocery store.

IMG_0404

Soak the noodles according to the directions on the package. I used hot (not boiling) water and soaked for about 30 min.

IMG_0408

Chop up some roasted, salted peanuts and cilantro. Set those guys aside.

IMG_0410

Now for the yummy sauce. In a small bowl, measure 4 tablespoons of soy sauce. (Or use tamari for gluten free)

IMG_0412

Add 2 tablespoons of light brown sugar

IMG_0414

Plus 2 tablespoons of fresh lime juice (about one lime) and one teaspoon of red pepper flakes (add more/use less to your liking).

Now whisk together until the sugar is dissolved.

IMG_0418

Grab 3 green onions, separate the white and green parts.

IMG_0426

Slice the white parts thinly and cut the green parts into 1 inch strips.

IMG_0425

Mince the garlic clove or use a garlic press.

IMG_0428

Place two eggs in a small bowl

IMG_0431

and whip em

IMG_0429

Whip em real good (How’s that for an action shot!)

IMG_0434

Optional: Add some freshly ground black pepper. Because fresh pepper makes everything better.

IMG_0435

Heat a couple teaspoons of vegetable oil in a skillet over medium-high heat.

IMG_0437

Gather all of your ingredients and keep them close- things move pretty fast from here on out!

IMG_0440

Toss the white parts of the onions + garlic into the skillet and cook, stirring constantly until fragrant, about 30 seconds.

IMG_0442

Add the eggs

IMG_0443

Cook and scrape with spatula…

IMG_0444

Until almost set (about 30 seconds to 1 minute). Remove the egg mixture from skillet and place into plate/bowl you set aside earlier.

IMG_0447

Now throw the noodles in the skillet

IMG_0448

And the green parts of the onions.

IMG_0449

Pour the delicious sauce into the mix.

IMG_0454

Saute until the noodles are soft, about 1 minute.

IMG_0455

Add the egg mixture back into the pan.

IMG_0457

Gently stir to break up the egg.

And now things get real good.

IMG_0459

 

IMG_0460

Garnish each serving with cilantro and chopped peanuts. Serve with a lime wedge on the side. Now go and devour these noodles. They’re good, I promise.

Simple Pad Thai

(adapted from Brownies for Dinner)

Serves 4

Ingredients:

8 ounces dried, wide and flat rice noodles
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice, plus wedges for serving
4 tablespoons soy sauce (use tamari if gluten free)
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
2 teaspoons vegetable oil
3 green onions, white and green parts, separated and thinly sliced
1 garlic clove, minced
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup fresh cilantro
1/4 cup chopped roasted, salted peanuts

Directions:

  1. Soak noodles according to package instructions. Drain.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together brown sugar, lime juice, soy sauce, and red pepper flakes.
  3. In a large nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat.
  4. Add scallion whites and garlic and cook, stirring constantly, until fragrant (about 30 seconds). Add eggs and cook, scraping skillet with spatula until eggs are almost set (about 30 seconds). Transfer eggs to a plate.
  5. Add noodles, scallion greens, and sauce to skillet. Cook, tossing constantly, until noodles are soft (about 1 minute). Add egg mixture and toss to coat, breaking eggs up gently.
  6. Serve noodles with lime wedges, topped with cilantro and peanuts.

Notes:

  • Per serving: 315 calories, 7g fat (0.9g saturated fat), 3.6g protein, 60.5g carb, 1.4g fiber
  • Feel free to add chicken, shrimp, or tofu. Just cut into bite sized pieces, marinate in a bit of soy sauce, and cook before you add noodles.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

