Weekend Highlights: July 4th Edition!

(This post is extremely late, I sincerely apologize!)

I don’t know about y’all, but I loved this long weekend. It was so nice to have extra time off work to relax and enjoy the holiday. I went up to Dallas to visit a college friend for a few days and we had such a good time shopping, eating delicious food, and just hanging out.

I drove up Thursday afternoon (after a quick stop at Starbucks for an Iced Caramel Latte with soy milk). I passed time listening to This American Life and the drive went by quicker than ever! After I arrived at Emily’s house, we spent about an hour catching up and talking. We hadn’t seen each other in a couple months so we had much to chat about!

We decided to drive over to Plano to do some shopping at The Shops at Legacy. If you have never been, I definitely recommend it. There are tons of fun things to do: cool restaurants, adorable clothing boutiques, bars, and much more. I could probably spend a day or two exploring all it has to offer! I was on the hunt for the perfect red dress for fall recruitment so we spent several hours browsing through boutiques. Unfortunately, I did not find a dress- red just does not seem to be an “in” color right now!

IMG_5136

All that shopping made us pretty hungry so we headed to uptown Dallas for dinner at Sushi Zushi. The restaurant was in another beautiful area with tons of shops, restaurants, and gorgeous apartments (maybe one day!). I had the Las Vegas Roll (shrimp tempura, avocado, and kanikama crab with a special sauce) and miso soup. The food was super fresh and flavorful and left me satisfied without feeling stuffed.

IMG_5131

horrible lighting but the food was excellent!

We were craving something sweet after dinner so we walked down the street to Pinkberry yogurt. I always enjoy frozen yogurt, but Pinkberry is probably my favorite out of the joints I have been to. I ordered the lemonade yogurt (soooooo good) with fresh strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries, and a touch of shaved coconut. It was perfectly refreshing. We picked a table outside and ended up sitting and talking for almost two hours. The weather was beautiful, and I had such a fantastic time enjoying the company of my good friend and watching the city go by.

IMG_5132

Friday morning we headed out early so we made sure to stop by Starbucks for breakfast. I chose a yogurt parfait from the cold case (surprisingly good) and also ordered my favorite drink (see above). After eating, we shopped for several hours at Willow Bend- an indoor mall in Plano. I still couldn’t find a good red dress, but I did make a few fun purchases. Helpful Hint: Go shopping on Fourth of July: the malls aren’t crowded at all and most stores have fabulous sales! 

IMG_5134

We headed back over to Shops at Legacy for lunch at Twisted Root Burger. This restaurant was so much fun! Instead of using your actual name to call your order, they gave you a slip of paper with a celebrity or other famous character’s name. (I was Honey Bunny).

IMG_5141

The place was decently busy because a World Cup game was on tv so the whole place had an energetic and exciting vibe. The menu was full of delicious items so it was hard to choose, but I finally settled on the Verde Burger- beef patty with green chilis, guacamole, and pepperjack cheese. I also ordered a side of fries and a mini vanilla shake. It was a TON of food and I ate most of it because it was so incredibly amazing. I was stuffed to the brim but it was worth it!

 

IMG_5142                        IMG_5139

Another cool thing about Twisted Root was the pickle bar. They had several different types of homemade pickles that we sampled while waiting for our meal. My favorite? Bread and Butter. Least favorite/most unique? Kool-aid. It definitely wasn’t my thing!

IMG_5140

you could definitely taste the cherry kool-aid.. a little too weird for my taste!

After lunch we drove to another friend’s house to hang out by the pool and catch some sun. It was pretty hot out, but it was nice to relax after walking around all day. We wandered inside after a while and showered up/got dressed to go see fireworks… which didn’t end up happening. It was just a tad too hot/humid outside to be enjoyable, and we were all pretty wiped out. So we ended up seeing a movie (Tammy- pretty good, but I always love Melissa McCarthy). I was so full from lunch that I never ended up eating dinner- but I made sure to buy some popcorn and a Coke Zero to tide me over during the movie!

IMG_5164

Saturday was pretty low key. We ran a few errands for our room in the sorority house (more on that when I move in!) and hit a few more stores to try to find my red dress (to no avail). We enjoyed a late lunch at a beautiful little italian place called Patrizio. The decor was lovely- I felt like I eating in an old villa in the Italian countryside. The food was amazing. I ordered the Capelli D’Angelo- angel hair pasta with garlic, olive oil, fresh Tomatoes, romano cheese and basil. It was simply bursting with flavor and almost had me licking the plate! I sampled a bite of Emily’s spaghetti and meatballs, and it too was incredible.

IMG_5166

 

After lunch, we went across the street to Trader Joe’s. I purchased two of my favorite TJ’s items- Spicy Black Bean Dip and ginger mints. The bean dip was gone in a day, and I finished off the mints in less than two days. Couldn’t stop myself!

I packed up and left that afternoon. It was sad to bring an end to such a fantastic weekend, but I needed to get back home. Once again, I drove through Starbucks and listened to my favorite podcast during the drive. The rest of the weekend was relaxing and slow, but it was just what I needed. I had such a great holiday weekend! What did you do?

Leave a Reply

