Vegan Cookie Dough Bites (The Best!)

IMG_5314

About three years ago, after watching Food, Inc., and having an experience with bad chicken, I gave up meat. In fact, I went full-fledge vegan. Aside from honey and the occasional fish, I didn’t touch an animal product for over a year. I eventually returned to eating meat due to health problems (low body weight, not enough protein, etc), but during my time as a vegan, I had such a fun time exploring the world of animal-free recipes, products, and blogs. **Don’t get me wrong- it is definitely possible to obtain your complete nutritional needs while following a vegan diet, but at the time it just wasn’t working for me**

One of my favorite blogs (which I still follow today!) is Oh She Glows. Angela’s blog is full of healthy recipes, beautiful pictures, and helpful hints for those following a restricted diet. I am still inspired by her passion for healthy living and creativity in the kitchen. If you haven’t yet, I seriously recommend you check out her blog! I promise, she doesn’t disappoint.

I love many of her recipes, but my all time favorite is her Vegan Cookie Dough Blizzard. If you know me, then you know I am a sucker for cookie dough anything, especially ice cream! I often find myself craving something cold and creamy during the summer so it’s nice to have a healthy and non-processed version to satisfy my tastebuds. I have made this delightful treat dozens of times over the past few years, and I think I love it more each time! You can whip it up in a jiffy, and it just hits the spot on a hot summer day.

Today, I present to you my own version of Vegan Cookie Dough Bites! I tweaked Angela’s recipe a bit to make a larger batch with less sugar. These delicious bites are also gluten free if you use gluten free flour like I did, so enjoy them without any guilt or worries. Go ahead and slice up/freeze some bananas while you are making the cookie dough if you want to take it to the next level- it’s hardly any extra work, and trust me, you want to!

Vegan Cookie Dough Bites

adapted from Oh She Glows

 

  • 1 cup roasted, unsalted cashews
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup oat flour (or whatever flour you wish)
  • heaping 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp light brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3-5 tbsp pure maple syrup or agave nectar (use more/less if dough is too wet or dry)
  • 1 tbsp almond milk
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. In a food processor, process oats and cashews until mixture forms a fine crumble.
  2. Add in flour, salt, and sugar and process a few seconds more.
  3. Add vanilla, maple syrup, and almond milk; process until well combined. Dough should be slightly sticky, but not wet; it should easily form balls when rolled.
  4. Add chocolate chips and process or stir in by hand. Form into balls. Freeze until ready to use.

For vegan “blizzard”: Process 1-2 frozen bananas until a creamy, soft-serve consistency is reached, adding almond milk in small increments if necessary. Add in frozen cookie dough bites and process a few seconds more. Garnish with more cookie dough bites and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

