Black Bean and Corn Relish

2img_5344

At my hometown grocery store (HEB), there is a kiosk near the meats/cheese called the Cooking Connection. It’s basically a mini kitchen (oven, stove, the whole works!) where one or two chefs work handing out samples of delicious recipes and trying to get you to buy the store brand ingredients. I’ve made it a habit of stopping by the kiosk every time I go to the store because without fail, grocery shopping makes me hungry. I usually end up buying a ton of tantalizing and junky snacks that get devoured within a day or two. But, by trying a few samples instead, I save both my wallet AND my waistline.

Anyway, the other day, the chef made a black eyed pea and corn salad that was to die for. I considered grabbing the entire bowl, running to the chip aisle, breaking open a bag of party sized Tostitos, and eating the whole thing right then and there. Unfortunately, no one wants to see a crazy lady sprawled out on the floor with corn relish smeared all over her face, so I though better of it and took the recipe card instead.

I decided to use black beans instead of black eyed peas simply because we were having Mexican that night and black beans went better. Either one is delicious, and I’m sure you could use any other bean to suit your fancy. (Chickpeas? Kidney beans? The possibilities are endless!) This recipe makes quite a bit, and can be easily doubled for a party or potluck.

IMG_5349

 

IMG_5346

Black Bean and Corn Relish

  • (2) 12 oz. cans black beans- drained and rinsed
  • 16 oz. frozen corn
  • 1 bunch green onion- sliced
  • 1 bunch cilantro- minced
  • 1 jar HEB Relish That Corn (any 16 oz jar of corn relish/salsa will do)
  • Salt & Pepper to Taste

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

